Best Web Hosting

The best all-purpose web hosting providers

Hostinger Review

A good, cheap provider.

A great web hosting provider if you're not looking to spend too much, Hostinger recently updated its service to become a multi-faceted, powerful service capable of all kinds of things. Check out our all-new Hostinger review to see if it's the web host for you.

By Jacob Roach08 Mar'182019-09-03 11:14:40

Starts from$ 080per month
Visit HostingerHostinger Review

SiteGround Review

Feature-rich and highly affordable

SiteGround is a compelling web host that offers more features than the competition and at a better price. While the updated website has helped navigation, the dated cPanel still leaves something to be desired.

By Jacob Roach19 Jan'182019-09-03 11:16:05

Starts from$ 395per month
Visit SiteGroundSiteGround Review

Hosting24 Review

A fast and easy-to-use host.

Hosting24 is the ready-to-go variant of Hostinger, one of our favorite web hosts. It has many of the upsides of its parent, but is focused more on getting stuff into the air quickly than anything else. Check out our full Hosting24 review to see if it's an option for you.

By Jacob Roach03 Jun'192019-06-03 21:58:01

Starts from$ 080per month
Visit Hosting24 Hosting24 Review

Dreamhost Review

A very good hosting service with great privacy.

DreamHost is the only truly privacy-friendly web hosting service out there, which places it high on our list. Other upsides include its cost and ease of use, though the interface could use some work, as could its speeds. Read our full DreamHost review for the details.

By Jacob Roach22 Jan'152018-04-26 19:03:59

Starts from$ 259per month
Visit DreamhostDreamhost Review

Good Web Hosting

Good web hosting services that stood the test of time and excellent customer support.

A2 Hosting Review

A good service with transparent pricing

It might be difficult picking through A2 Hosting's dense lineup, but the payoff is worth it. With blazing speed, excellent security and a low price, to boot, A2 is one of the best web hosts around.

By Jacob Roach22 Jan'152018-04-28 11:34:37

Starts from$ 392per month
Visit A2 HostingA2 Hosting Review

MDDHosting Review

A well-priced, well-featured web host.

MDDHosting is a small independent web hosting company that we're growing to love. It offers plenty of features, good speeds and great security, and all for a very modest price. Check out our full MDDHosting review for the details on this service.

By Jacob Roach23 May'192019-05-23 01:45:27

Starts from$ 400per month
Visit MDDHosting MDDHosting Review

WebHostingBuzz Review

A solid, cheap, fast independent host.

WebHostingBuzz has been around for almost 20 years, and in that time has done a decent job of building up features while keeping prices low and speeds high. Though it's not perfect, it merits a good look by anybody looking for a new host, as you can read in this WebHostingBuzz review.

By Jacob Roach24 May'192019-09-03 11:20:44

Starts from$ 499per month
Visit WebHostingBuzz WebHostingBuzz Review

Namecheap Review

One of the cheapest host out there, and a good one.

Namecheap is a registrar turned host that offers cheap, fully featured hosting. Though it's not perfect, with these prices you'll have little to complain about it. Find out if it works for you by reading our full Namecheap review.

By Jacob Roach27 May'192019-09-03 11:21:34

Starts from$ 288per month
Visit NamecheapNamecheap Review

Kinsta Review

A great option for WordPress fans.

Probably one of the better web hosting options if you're going with WordPress, Kinsta offers plenty of bells and whistles for those putting together their site with the world's most used CMS. If, however, you're not going with WP, you may want give Kinsta a pass.

By Jacob Roach20 Jul'182019-10-15 06:55:53

Starts from$ 3000per month
Visit KinstaKinsta Review

InMotion Hosting Review

A good user experience that could easily be great

InMotion offers a wide range of services, all packed with features. The price isn't bad, either, but you'll need to contend with slightly slower speed.

By Jacob Roach17 Jan'162019-03-30 06:44:51

Starts from$ 499per month
Visit InMotion HostingInMotion Hosting Review

Bluehost Review

Weird pricing and bad privacy mars an otherwise good host.

Bluehost is a fast and easy to use service that we'd be happy to recommend except for two things: its privacy policy and its miseading pricing scheme. Check out the details on this and everything else in this full Bluehost review.

By Jacob Roach22 Jan'152018-04-17 10:36:34

Starts from$ 395per month
Visit BluehostBluehost Review

1&1 IONOS Web Hosting Review

A solid, revamped web host.

Since being taken over by IONOS, 1&1 has seen a leap in quality across all its software, but especially in web hosting. Where once we would have steered you away with dire warnings, nowadays 1&1 web hosting is a top contender, as you can read in our full review.

By Jacob Roach07 May'192018-03-26 10:59:27

Starts from$ 400per month
Visit 1&1 IONOS Web Hosting1&1 IONOS Web Hosting Review

OK Web Hosting

OK web hosts with minor glitches and more downtime the our top picks.

iPage Review

Great web hosting for beginners.

iPage may be one of the best web hosts out there for people just getting started with their own website. It's cheap, easy-to-use and has decent features. If it's power you want, though, you may want to look elsewhere, as you can read in our full iPage review.

By Jacob Roach08 Jun'152018-03-26 10:30:13

Starts from$ 199per month
Visit iPageiPage Review

GreenGeeks Review

A green provider that's great for smaller sites

A green-minded web hosting provider, GreenGeeks is great for smaller sites or for people that are just starting out. This is due to its friendly interface and general ease of use, though its pricing might deter some, as you can read in our full GreenGeeks review.

By Jacob Roach22 Jan'152018-04-28 11:26:26

Starts from$ 295per month
Visit GreenGeeksGreenGeeks Review

A Small Orange Review

A good host, but comes with privacy issues.

A Small Orange is one of the many web hosts owned by EIG, and as such comes with a host of privacy issues. That's a shame, because otherwise it's a pretty decent service, as you can read in our full A Small Orange review.

By Jacob Roach11 Jun'192019-09-03 11:30:36

Starts from$ 592per month
Visit A Small Orange A Small Orange Review

WestHost Review

Great for WordPress, but slow.

WestHost didn't really impress us while we reviewed it. Its speed is mediocre and you need to pay full price if you want access to any decent features. That said, it's pretty cheap and might be a viable alternative fro fans of WordPress. Read our full review for the details.

By Jacob Roach13 May'192019-06-10 08:57:47

Starts from$ 199per month
Visit WestHost WestHost Review

Midphase Review

Good in some ways, bad in a few others.

Midphase is a web host that takes privacy seriously, and it has excellent features and pricing, to boot. However, our speed results were below expectations, and the user experience is a mixed bag, to say the least. Check out our full Midphase review for the details.

By Jacob Roach20 May'192019-05-20 00:09:15

Starts from$ 200per month
Visit Midphase Midphase Review

Pagely Review

Pagely is a great, but expensive, full-service host

Pagely could easily be the best web host out there. It's fast, easy to use and comes chock-a-block with features. Its price tag, though, will make you blanch and we wouldn't recommend it. Read our full Pagely review to see why.

By Jacob Roach15 Nov'172019-07-29 07:20:34

Starts from$ 19900per month
Visit PagelyPagely Review

JustHost Review

A good provider with a worrying privacy policy.

Compared to its siblings in the EIG stable, JustHost is a thoroughbred. It offers a good range of features, decent speed and okay pricing. You do still need to contend with that nast EIG privacy policy, though. Read our full JustHost review to see what that means.

By Jacob Roach15 May'192019-05-15 23:46:45

Starts from$ 395per month
Visit JustHost JustHost Review

HostPapa Review

A good, but slow, Canadian web host.

HostPapa is a good web host with great privacy, a decent builder and a more features than you can shake a stick at. The only thing keeping it from being a total winner are its slow speeds, as you can read in our full HostPapa review.

By Jacob Roach17 Jun'192019-06-17 02:16:25

Starts from$ 299per month
Visit HostPapa HostPapa Review

GoDaddy Review

A Pricey, but comprehensive package.

GoDaddy is almost synonymous with web hosting, but overall we're not huge fans. It's very expensive when compare to the competition and has a few smaller issues besides. Still, if you want a one-stop shop, you could do worse, as we describe in our full GoDaddy review.

By Jacob Roach08 Jun'152018-03-26 10:45:10

Starts from$ 299per month
Visit GoDaddyGoDaddy Review

Hostgator Review

A good, not great, web host.

HostGator has been around for a while and it's easy to see why: it's fast and easy to use. However, the price tag leaves a lot to be desired, and you can get even better services for less. Read our full HostGator review for the details.

By Jacob Roach22 Jan'152019-03-10 02:57:58

Starts from$ 275per month
Visit HostgatorHostgator Review

Site5 Review

A fast and easy-to-use host with pricing issues.

One of the most usable mounts from the EIG stable, Site5 is fast and offers a great interface. However, it misses out on some essentuial features, making it feel a bit overpriced. Read our full opinion in this Site5 review.

By Jacob Roach03 Jun'192019-06-03 00:31:44

Starts from$ 695per month
Visit Site5Site5 Review

LunarPages Review

A powerful, but flawed web host.

LunarPages is doubtlessly a powerful web host for larger businesses, but smaller businesses will find it hard to use, lacking in important features and pricey. Check out our full LunarPages review to see if it's the host for you.

By Jacob Roach27 May'192019-05-27 04:45:09

Starts from$ 395per month
Visit LunarPages LunarPages Review

HostMonster Review

A good web host struggling with its better sibling.

HostMonster is an odd hosting provider in that it shares a lot of the backend with Bluehost, but without the features and support of its big brother. The end result is a service that you may want to avoid in favor of a better option. Read our full HostMonster review for the details.

By Jacob Roach23 Jul'182019-06-12 01:32:08

Starts from$ 495per month
Visit HostMonsterHostMonster Review

Arvixe Review

An expensive service with a host of issues.

Arvixe is expensive and hard to use, as well as being a massive pain to set up. We recommend you look elsewhere as we had too many issues to mention getting it started. For a full accounting of our experiences, read our full Arvixe review.

By Jacob Roach09 Jan'162018-03-26 10:26:59

Starts from$ 700per month
Visit ArvixeArvixe Review

FatCow Review

A slow, and overall mediocre service.

We take a look at FatCow web hosting, a no-nonsense hosting company we believe is most suitable for beginners or simply people who don't want a long-term investment. However, more experienced users will get annoyed at its slow speeds; read our full FatCow review for the details.

By Jacob Roach22 Jan'152018-03-26 11:06:43

Starts from$ 375
Visit FatCowFatCow Review
Web Hosting Reviews

Cloudwards.net Reviews the Top Web Hosting Companies

It seems like everyone has a website these days. But building and maintaining a site can only happen if there is a space on a server that can be accessed by everyone. This process is known as web hosting.

Web hosting services are as varied as the sites they hold. Some are geared towards helping businesses get off the ground and handle traffic. Others look for private users who mainly want to host simple sites like blogs. Picking the right provider can be a challenge, even for the most technically savvy.

Web hosting reviews can help narrow the field. Reading opinions written by those who have actually tried or used the service can help cut through the haze and make sense out of what they really offer.

What is Web Hosting?

Getting started with a website is more than just having a great idea. While, this is an important step, petting that inspiration out on the internet for all to see requires a web host. A hosting service is an individual or company that leases space on their server and provides connectivity to the internet. Being connected is what allows files stored to be accessible on the internet. Anyone interested in owning a website, be it for personal or business use, must have access to a web host. A hosting service typically operates out of a data center that is home to many servers.

Learn About the Different Types of Hosting Services

Free Hosting Services

This is a limited resource offered by some (not all) providers. Typically, users are restricted to a certain number of pages, fewer features, and limitations on what can be uploaded when compared to paid services.

Shared Web Hosting

This is probably the most common type of service. Users share space on a server as well as the resources of that drive. Depending on the size one platform could host a few hundred to a few thousand web sites. While commonplace, this option is typically very basic when it comes to flexibility. Consumers have no control over patching or software updates.

Virtual Dedicated Server

Also known as a Virtual Private Server, this option is available to those who want a little more control. Users still share space on a platform, however the resources are divided and allocated in a way that everyone has their own without affecting the underlying hardware. Consumers have more flexibility when it comes to root access and they may be responsible for patching software themselves.

Dedicated Hosting

With this option the user has his own server and full control. However, the consumer does not typically own the hardware, simply leasing it. The client is responsible for security and maintenance, but there is no sharing of space or resources.

Some providers also offer reseller services that would allow consumers to become hosts themselves while using other seller’s resources. These vary as much as other hosting services.

When trying to get started with a website the first thing that must be determined is what type of web host is needed. The cheapest, aside from free platforms, would be the shared hosting. However, larger businesses, or consumers with lots of visitors, may be better off with a dedicated plan.

Each web hosting service has different features offered depending on the type of plan chosen. Commonly, things like email, FTP transfer, and WordPress installation are offered. However, some may only allow one domain to be hosted per account; while others allow for more. That’s where good reviews come in handy.

Who are the Top Contenders?

  • HostGator: Founded in 2002, this host offers shared, dedicated, virtual private, and reseller hosting.
  • Bluehost: Founded in 1996, they offer shared, WordPress, VPS, and dedicated services.
  • DreamHost: Founded in 1997, this host also offers shared, WordPress, dedicated and virtual private hosting. This provider also has cloud features such as computing and storage services.
  • iPage: This hosting company was founded in 1998. Like their competitors, they offer shared, WordPress, VPS, and dedicated hosting packages.
  • GreenGeeks: This company also offers shared, reseller, virtual private, and dedicated hosting. Unlike others they are 100% eco-friendly and do community services throughout the world.

There are hundreds more web hosting services out there, but these are among the leaders in the industry. We’ve reviewed each of these companies and offer ratings and opinions on which one would work best. Of course, as with anything the final choice is best left to consumers as needs vary greatly from website to website.

How Do We Rate Web Hosting Companies?

Since we have completed reviews on the aforementioned webhosts, and several other, it is important to note how we’ve rated them. We look at several categories including:

  • Setup & Usability
  • Features & Apps
  • Uptime, Downtime & Speed
  • Security
  • Customer Support

Setup and Usability

With setup and usability we take a look at how long it the process takes. Is it easy to get started with a new website? How long does it take to transfer a domain to the new host? These are just a couple of the questions we try to answer.

In addition, we look at how easy it is to navigate around and use their site. We look at the interface users have once the account is activated and whether or not the control panel is easy to understand. Not only is it scrutinized for how easy it is to use but what level the consumer should be at, i.e. beginner, intermediate, advanced, before trying to work with it.

Features and Apps

When we look at features, we spend time reviewing what all comes with each option. Some services offer several tiers under one type of hosting platform. While it all maybe shared hosting, one level may have better features than another and the cost will reflect that.

Not only do we look at features such as email, FTP, Ruby, Python, and space but we also look at applications available. We look to see if there easy WordPress or Wiki installation as an example. Every host will have its own series of applications to offer. Some may not be of use to certain consumers while others are.

Uptime, Downtime, and Speed

When it comes to uptime, downtime, and speed the category pretty much speaks for itself. We research into what the web hosting company claims in their uptime then we compare that to tested downtime and see if it matches up. We also check the speed of uploads, downloads, and page loads. This information can save users a lot of time and frustration.

Security

Security is probably one of the most important things a web hosting company can provide. Users need to know that their information and their data are safe from external hackers. We look to see what protocols are in place, how patches are delivered, and if they offer any additional features to bolster consumer protection.

Customer Service

Finally, we look at customer service. Users have questions and run into problems all the time. Being able to resolve these errors quickly is important. If the consumer cannot make contact with anyone at the web hosting company to solve issues it is considered poor business. Not only do we look at how easy it is to contact someone, but also we review how helpful and courteous he or she was.

How to Avoid Pitfalls When Choosing A Service?

There are many ways to be sucked into the wrong web hosting service. The price may seem low and then it is raised or you simply don’t know enough about the company to make an adequate decision. So here are some of the main pitfalls and tips on how to avoid them.

You could be locked into a high rate contract. Many providers have discounts available to new customers. However, it is easy to misinterpret a lot of them as they print the actual monthly, or yearly, price after the initial period in small print.  Customers are sucked into this all the time due to the misdirection. Always read the fine print on anything before you purchase it. If you have doubts call customer service and ask for clarification. Make sure you know your term limits as well and if auto renewal is turned on. Some companies bill for the entire term at once then automatically renew you at the end of that term.

Not all web hosting services provide a domain. This is another easy one with which to become trapped. Some companies advertise unlimited domain hosting but they aren’t clear on who provides the name. Be sure to find out if you are bringing the site name or if they provide one with your service. The good news is if they don’t, registration of a DNS is cheap and most hosting services don’t require it be with them as long as you provide proof of ownership.

Some web hosting services require a knowledge of certain systems to be able to use theirs adequately. Those who employ CPanel instead of a customer portal expect users to have had at least one website in the past. It is not as intuitive as other programs and can scare beginners off. That being said, don’t be afraid of complexity. Use all the information available to help learn about the product and how to make it better.

Finally, another pitfall some new users make is not knowing exactly what the features are. All web hosts will list what their packages have available. Some offer additional options such as a web builder or SEO for extra cost. Consumers need to be aware beforehand so there are no surprises later. However, not having FTP to transfer folders or having limited templates can be a problem. When in doubt ask a customer service representative.

The most important thing you can do is look at web hosting reviews and do not rush in to anything. Take the time to look at different sites. Compare everything they have to offer. Ask questions and test out the customer service for yourself. While we can make suggestions as to who is best, not every person will find the same things important. Take your time and look around.

Top