How to Unblock Someone on Instagram in 2021: Restore Lost Connections

Once you've blocked someone on Instagram, it can be hard to get them back onto your feed. Follow this guide on how to unblock someone on Instagram to get them back.

Robin Barber
By Robin Barber (Assistant Editor)
— Last Updated: 2021-07-12T14:04:42+00:00

We’ve all been there before; maybe you’ve repaired an old friendship and want to regain access to their Instagram photos, or perhaps you’ve just slipped and accidentally clicked Instagram’s “block” button. Either way, you want to reverse it. There’s no need to worry. In this article, we’ll show you how to unblock someone on Instagram. 

Key Takeaways:

  • You can unblock people on Instagram through both their profile and the “blocked accounts” list.
  • You can unblock people on Instagram on any computer, iPhone or Android device. 
  • Blocking users stops them from seeing your posts, stories, followers, people you’re following and more.

Before we get into unblocking people on the Instagram app, you’ll need to make sure you can use it. Our articles about how to get around geoblocking, How to unblock Instagram in other countries or how to use Instagram in schools will help you get around any blocks. 

  • Yes, you can see your block list on Instagram. We provide step-by-step instructions later in this article.

  • There are a few reasons why you can’t see another user’s profile, even if you’ve tried to unblock them. The most likely situations are that they’re blocking you back, or the person has deleted their account — either way, you won’t be able to see their profile. However, if you know this isn’t the case, you should contact customer support to get their assistance.

  • You can unblock any users that you’ve previously blocked through the “blocked accounts” list in your privacy settings. However, unless they also unblock you, you won’t be able to message them or see their posts and stories.

Step-by-Step: How to Unblock Someone on Instagram 

There are two ways to unblock someone on Instagram; both methods are easy to use and have their own benefits. The first is to go through your “blocked accounts” list — so you can unblock many people at once. The second goes directly through their profile — so you’re sure of who you’re unblocking.

How to See Your Blocked Accounts List on Instagram

When you block someone on Instagram, it adds them to a “blocked accounts” list inside your settings. You can see people you’ve blocked and even unblock them from this list, although you should be careful not to select the wrong account by accident.

  1. Open the Settings Menu

    Click the three horizontal lines in the top-right corner of your profile page, then select “settings” at the bottom of the menu.

    unblock on Instagram settings
    Open the Instagram app and find the settings page.
  2. Go Into Your Privacy Settings

    Tap “privacy” — the button next to the padlock icon — to open up the settings for who can view your profile.

    unblock on Instagram privacy
    Go into “privacy” to change what certain users can see.
  3. Select “Blocked Accounts”

    In the “privacy” page, tap on “blocked accounts” to view the profiles that you have previously blocked.

    unblock on Instagram blocked accounts
    Tap “blocked accounts” to find everyone you’ve blocked.
  4. Press the “Unblock” Button

    If you want to unblock someone, tap the “unblock” button next to their account name.

    unblock on Instagram tap the button
    To unblock someone, tap on the “unblock” button next to their username.
  5. Confirm You Want to Unblock Them

    Tap “unblock” in the confirmation window to give them access to your account.

    unblock on Instagram confirm
    Tap “unblock” again, and the user will be unblocked.

How to Unblock Someone Via Their Instagram Profile 

You can also unblock someone by going directly to their account. This lets you check that you aren’t unblocking the wrong account and lets you follow them immediately afterward if you did. However, it will take some time to unblock a lot of people this way. 

  1. Tap “Unblock” on Their Profile Page

    Go to the profile page of the person you want to unblock and tap the “unblock” button.

    unblock on Instagram through their profile tap the button
    Find the person you want to unblock and tap “unblock.”
  2. Confirm You Want to Unblock Them

    Tap “unblock” in the confirmation window to give them access to your account.

    unblock on Instagram through their profile confirmation
    After tapping the “unblock” button, confirm you want to unblock them.

How to Unblock Someone Who Blocked You on Instagram 

Normally, to block or unblock someone, you need access to their profile. However, you can’t do this if they’ve blocked you or deleted their account. Luckily, there is still a way to block or unblock them without this access.

To unblock them, simply use the first method to see your “blocked accounts” list and unblock them there. However, if you want to block them, you’re going to need to go into your Instagram direct messages and block them there.

Final Thoughts

Regardless of why you needed to do it in the first place, now you know how to unblock someone on Instagram, even if they’ve blocked you first. This user will now be able to find you with the search bar, send you a direct message and view your posts and stories. However, for you to do the same, they’ll also need to unblock you first.

If you use Instagram regularly, you might also consider backing up your photos to the cloud. Although you can do this manually, you could also set up an IFTTT recipe to keep them all safe automatically. 

Have you tried unblocking someone on Instagram? Did you use one of these methods? Let us know your thoughts in the comments section below. Thanks for reading.