Best Website Builders

Simply the best and easiest to use. Set up a website in minutes.

Wix Review

A great allround provider with a reasonable price tag.

Wix is one of the best known website builders out there, with a long history of helping people and businesses set up sites. In this review, Cloudwards.net goes into the ins and outs of this service.

By Jacob Roach28 Mar'182019-06-19 06:49:11

Starts from$ 500per month
Visit WixWix Review

Weebly Review

A simple, yet powerful website builder.

Weebly is one of the older and most trusted website builders out there, and with good reason: it's easy to use and has some great design options. Check out our Weebly review to find out if it's the right builder for you.

By Jacob Roach29 Mar'182018-07-31 12:09:55

Free
Visit WeeblyWeebly Review

Good Website Builders

Website Builders who have stood the test of time.

SquareSpace Review

A good builder that's not for everybody.

Though not as rich in features as the competition, SquareSpace gets a lot right in terms of ease of use and pricing. Read our SquareSpace review to find out if you're in the target audience of this website builder or if you need to keep looking.

By Jacob Roach29 Mar'182018-08-17 09:25:28

Free
Visit SquareSpace SquareSpace Review

WordPress.com Review

A decent web builder with some issues.

WordPress is a behemoth in the world of websites, but this review is about its commercial .com rival. It does a lot right, but fails to deliver in certain key areas, as you can read in this full Wordpress review.

By Theo Porutiu10 Jul'192019-07-10 00:51:58

Starts from$ 300per month
Visit WordPress.comWordPress.com Review

Jimdo Review

A solid website builder.

Jimdo is a solid option for most people looking to build their own website. It has plenty of options, a nice selection of themes and pricing is reasonable, too. Support, however, is a tiny bit lacing in places; read our full Jimdo review for all the details.

By Jacob Roach26 Apr'182018-10-23 09:56:05

Free
Visit JimdoJimdo Review

Strikingly Review

A solid website builder that isn't for everyone.

A solid website builder that gets a lot right, Strikingly is perfect for people designing smaller sites or who need a user-friendly interface. More advanced users may want to look elsewhere, however, read our full Strikingly review to find out why.

By Jacob Roach26 Apr'182018-07-31 11:54:51

Free
Visit StrikinglyStrikingly Review

Webnode Review

Great pricing and ease of use, but ugly interface

Webnode has been around the block, and it shows: the service is easy to use and offers a great range of pricing plans. People looking to set up an ecommerce site might want to look elsewhere, however, as do people who prefer an aesthetically pleasing interface. Read our full Webnode review for the d

By Jacob Roach06 May'182018-07-31 11:56:32

Free
Visit WebnodeWebnode Review

Site123 Review

An easy to use, but limited builder.

As website builders go, Site123 is nothing to blow your socks off. It manages things old-style, without using drag-and-drop mechanics, making it not the best choice for newbies. However, for those willing to work with it, it's a solid tool, as you can read in our full review.

By Theo Porutiu06 Feb'192019-02-14 05:45:37

Free
Visit Site123Site123 Review

Voog Review

Well-priced and easy to use, but hard to master.

Voog is an easy-to-use and affordable website builder that even has some coding options for those wanting to get their hands dirty. However, to really get the most out of it, they may need to get more dirty than you'd like. Read our full Voog review for the details.

By Theo Porutiu18 Feb'192019-05-07 06:33:26

Starts from$ 057per month
Visit VoogVoog Review

Ucraft Review

A decent builder with a logo maker.

Ucraft is an interesting website builder that gets the job done, though could use some spit an polish here and there. It's real draw is its logo maker, a built-in tool that let's you design eye-catching designs to set your business apart, a pretty cool feature.

By Theo Porutiu21 Mar'192019-03-21 21:18:47

Starts from$ 1000per month
Visit UcraftUcraft Review

Mobirise Review

An expensive free builder.

Mobirise is rare for a website builder in that it works better the more money you throw at it. Its base form is, well, basic, but once you invest some money it becomes a fairly attractive option. See how much bang you exactly get for your buck in this full Mobirise review.

By Theo Porutiu26 Mar'192019-03-26 01:48:45

Free
Visit Mobirise Mobirise Review

GoDaddy Gocentral Review

A decent, if feature-poor, service.

GoCentral is the website builder of GoDaddy, which you probably know as a domain and website host. Though GoCentral is integrated well within the GoDaddy superstructure, it's lacking certain key features, as you can see in our in-depth GoDaddy GoCentral review.

By Jacob Roach13 Apr'182018-07-03 01:23:04

Free
Visit GoDaddy GocentralGoDaddy Gocentral Review

uKit Review

Great for simple sites, and pretty cheap, too.

If you're looking for a simple website builder that goes easy on the bells and whistles, you may want to give uKit a look. While it has some weaknesses in the usability and SEO departments, if you know what you're doing you'll like it. Check out our full uKit review for the details.

By Theo Porutiu27 May'192019-05-27 22:44:02

Starts from$ 350per month
Visit uKituKit Review

Duda Review

A good, but limiting web builder.

Duda is a very nice website builder that builds good-looking pages quickly. Rearranging things is tough, though, and it's a little light on features. Overall, however, we feel fairly confident recommending it to most businesses, as you can read in our full Duda review.

By Theo Porutiu25 Apr'192019-04-25 07:28:53

Starts from$ 1400per month
Visit DudaDuda Review

Simvoly Review

An interesting take, but very light on features.

Simvoly is a website builder focused on leading conversions through landing pages and sales funnels. However, in every other respect it's rather light on features, so you won't be able to optimize SEO, for example. Read our full Simvoly review for the details.

By Theo Porutiu08 May'192019-05-13 03:22:17

Starts from$ 1200per month
Visit Simvoly Simvoly Review

Weblium Review

An innovative service with a powerful AI.

Weblium is a service that's still developing, with all the good and bad that implies. It's cheap, has a great AI-driven tool and its devs are open to suggestion. On the other hand, not everything you'd like to be there is and it feels a bit unfinished. Read our full Weblium review for the details.

By Theo Porutiu08 May'192019-05-08 22:47:54

Starts from$ 1050per month
Visit WebliumWeblium Review

Gator Review

A simple but good website builder.

Gator is HostGator's website builder and as such is aimed primarily at newbies. Building a simple site is easy and almost fun, but if you want more depth, you may want to check out another service. Read our full Gator review for the details.

By Theo Porutiu12 Jun'192019-06-12 21:22:31

Starts from$ 384per month
Visit GatorGator Review

One.com Review

A great service with a mediocre interface.

One.com offers plenty of features for a great price, but is tough too handle. However, once you get past its interface quirks, you can out up a great site in very little time indeed. Read the details of this website builder's pros and cons in our detailed One.com review.

By Jacob Roach15 May'182018-06-15 03:52:37

Free
Visit One.comOne.com Review

Decent Website Builders

OK website builders with some caveats you need to know before buying.

Novi Builder Review

A good, but expensive and tricky builder.

Though beginners should shy away from Novi Builder, people who know their way around a website builder will likely love it if they can get past the high price. Read our full Novi Builder review for the details.

By Theo Porutiu19 Jun'192019-07-02 01:44:50

Starts from$ 242per month
Visit Novi BuilderNovi Builder Review

SnapPages Review

A basic, but beautiful website builder.

SnapPages is able to create beautiful pages in, well, a snap, and without too much trouble. However, it's lack of more advanced features makes us rank it a little lower than it could. Read our full SnapPages review for the details.

By Theo Porutiu25 Jun'192019-06-25 02:01:31

Starts from$ 1200per month
Visit SnapPages SnapPages Review

Sitebuilder Review

A service that would be a lot better if it got updated.

There's plenty to like about Sitebuilder, but it has too many negatives to merit a recommendation. While the interface and editor are great and easy to use, the design and templates are very badly outdated. Read our full Sitebuilder review for the details.

By Theo Porutiu07 Mar'192019-03-07 03:44:16

Starts from$ 323per month
Visit Sitebuilder Sitebuilder Review

uCoz Review

A powerful builder for the experienced.

uCoz by uKit is a hardcore website builder that foregoes dragging and dropping, having youninstead use code and command lines. It's very powerful, but is not for thefaint of heart. Read our full uCoz review to read all the details.

By Theo Porutiu22 May'192019-05-22 03:53:51

Starts from$ 299per month
Visit uCoz uCoz Review

WebStarts Review

Tough to master, but worth it.

WebStarts is a pretty good website builder, but comes with an interface that's pretty tough to master. However, once you've mastered the learning curve, it's a powerful application, as you can read in our full WebStarts review.

By Theo Porutiu15 Apr'192019-04-15 01:15:06

Starts from$ 978per month
Visit WebStartsWebStarts Review

1&1 Website Builder Review

Works well, but the interface is just plain bad.

Very hard to use, the 1&1 website builder tries too hard to do everything. That said, it's a good tool, if you can stomach the user experience, and offers to decent pricing. Check out our full review of this interesting service.

By Jacob Roach29 May'182019-05-07 10:25:28

Starts from$ 099per month
Visit 1&1 Website Builder1&1 Website Builder Review

Website builders are our go-to tool for putting up a website. Though web hosting provides greater flexibility, nothing beats the simplicity of a website builder. Given that, we’ve amassed a series of website builder reviews to help you find the best website builder you can buy.

For scrolling down this far, we’re going to reward you with a brief explanation of how Cloudwards.net tests website builders. Below, we’ll show how we analytically evaluate providers in five categories, which make up the overall rating and, ultimately, the ranking of a particular builder.

We’re going to talk about the methodology behind our reviews, then give our top five best website builders and answer common questions. This is just a brief look into how we do things, so if you’re interested in a particular website builder, read the corresponding review above.

How We Rate

We rate website builders in five categories to ensure our approach is as analytical as possible. Each category gets a score and the combined scores make the total score for the particular builder. Because we did it that way, you can rest assured that the website builder we think is best truly is.

Features

There’s no shortage of free, easy-to-use website builders, so features are what sells the sizzle. In this section, we dig through the interface to uncover the things you can do with it, as well as how the website builder’s tools are laid out across its paid tiers.

We’re looking for a few things in particular, including an app store, search engine optimization tool and design services. Anything else is gravy. We also look at the usefulness of the features. For example, Wix isn’t the only website builder that has an app store, but its app store is large and of a high enough quality to help your website.

Pricing

As mentioned, there are a lot of free website builders. As with password managers, category leaders — in this case, Wix and Weebly — have set the trend for solid website builders to make a free plan available. That said, you’ll need to upgrade to a paid plan to use your own domain and access advanced features.

We try to balance features with price to show the overall value proposition, like we would with any other service. That said, website builders are unusual in that the number of plans is important, too. A large lineup consisting of multiple tiers isn’t a bad thing, considering some features, such as e-commerce integration, may not be relevant to your website.

Design and Tools

In this section, we talk about the raw power of the website builder. Instead of focusing on how easy the tools are to use, we focus on whether the tools exist. Some website builders are easier to use than others, but we’re looking at how many options the builder puts at your disposal.

This is also where we talk about templates and the level of design you can achieve with the builder. For example, Webnode has excellent ease of use, features and pricing, but the interface for designing your website feels less than, especially if you’re launching an online store (read our Webnode review).

Ease of Use

After discussing the possibilities of the website builder, we try to put them in the right context. We talk about the tools in practice, assessing whether you can achieve a beautiful website and how easy it is to do. There isn’t a secret sauce for an easy-to-use website builder. Rather, we’re interested in interfaces that are as intuitive as they are powerful.  

This section is also where we talk about concessions that were made in power. For example, Site123 is ease of use incarnate, but the limited number of options shows that it sacrificed power in favor of usability (read our Site123 review).

Support

We can’t leave any review without talking about support. Website builders are simple tools, so it’s unlikely you’ll need to reach out to support much. Because of that, we focus less on the contact options and troubleshooting in this section and more on the tutorials and self-help.

That said, contact options are still important. Though website builders hide the intricate workings of your website behind a curtain, they’re still present and things can still go wrong. Because of that, it’s important to have helpful, friendly and responsive support agents ready to answer questions around the clock.

The Best Website Builders

Now that you know how we judge providers, it’s time to showcase the five that satisfy our criteria best. Below, you’ll find the five website builders that ranked highest in the above categories overall.

Wix

Wix is the only website builder that truly combines power, usability and accessibility under one roof. Though some website builders lean harder into gorgeous templates and others focus on streamlined interfaces, Wix does a bit of everything, making it the perfect website builder for experts and novices alike.

The builder is powerful but intuitive, the prices are low and the templates are beautiful, but what sets it apart is the list of features. For a sampling, you get a logo designer, a large app market and a complete SEO toolkit. You can learn why we like Wix so much in our Wix review or try a free website yourself.

Weebly

Weebly nips at Wix’s heels. Though it also combines ease of use, features and value, the more streamlined interface trades a small amount of power for usability. That said, raw power isn’t everything. Weebly doesn’t always keep up with Wix, but the interface is so streamlined that it doesn’t matter.

Though almost all website builders advertise a drag-and-drop interface, Weebly is the only builder that delivers. You simply drag elements from the toolbox on to your website and watch them appear. Weebly is easy to use, making it the perfect choice for newcomers. You can learn more in our Weebly review or try the builder with a free subdomain.

Squarespace

Squarespace caters to a specific crowd. If you want a beautiful website with little to no legwork, it’s the perfect option. That said, the high price tag and lack of integration with other platforms make it feel limited, which, depending on what you’re doing, may or may not matter.

Like the Apple of website builders, Squarespace is a closed system, though it still provides plenty of tools to build your website. The template designs are the best we’ve seen, too, making it the fastest way to put a gorgeous website online. You can learn more in our Squarespace review or see how you like it with a free two-week trial.

Jimdo

Jimdo is focused on one thing: ease of use. In fact, you don’t need to do anything to build your website. Jimdo includes Dolphin, which is an AI-driven design tool that’ll put together your website based on a short questionnaire. The tool is best for personal websites, such as portfolios, but it isn’t a bad effort overall.

Other aspects of the service are good, but not as good as Wix or Weebly. For example, the templates work well, but many of the elements are broken. Instead of a functional website, Jimdo simply hands you a suggestion. You can learn more about that in our Jimdo review or try the builder yourself with a free plan.  

Strikingly

Strikingly is another middle-of-the-road option, but unlike Jimdo, it doesn’t lean in any particular direction. It’s similar to Wix and Weebly in that regard, balancing features, price and user-friendliness, but with less efficiency than the top-shelf options.

The builder stands out, though. Strikingly only gives you a few options, but combining them can make something greater than the sum of its parts. As with Squarespace, you’re dealing with a closed system that, on its face, has limited options, but you can combine them to create a beautiful site.

You can learn more in our Strikingly review or try a free website to see how you like it.

Starts from $ 500 per month
Free plan available

Website Builder Frequently Asked Questions

Website builders are simple tools, but there’s a lot of confusion surrounding them, specifically the difference between a website builder and a web host. We’ve answered a few common questions below.

What Is a Website Builder?

The term “website builder” is self-explanatory. It’s a tool you use to build your website. Rather than define a term that most people understand, we’re going to go over how we define it.

As opposed to tools like WordPress, which we’ll get into in a minute, a website builder is an all-in-one tool designed to build your website as quickly as possible. Though Adobe Dreamweaver, for example, is technically a way to build a website, here we’re talking about tools that don’t require any particular technical knowledge to use.

That usually looks like a drag-and-drop interface that lets you interact with your website directly, meaning you can move and update elements as a user would see your website. A website builder may offer coding flexibility, but it isn’t necessary. The website builders listed above offer tools that will help you build your website without knowing a single command.

Design knowledge is the same way. The services above come with premade themes that offer a simple starting point for building your website. That said, you can’t just pick a template, change the photos and call it a day. You’ll still need to do some designing, just not at a professional level.

Depending on the website builder you choose, the templates may look good but not provide functionality. That comes in the form of broken links, dummy blog entries and buttons that don’t work. Website builders are simple design tools, but the burden of designing your website is on you.

Website Builder vs. Web Hosting

There’s a lot of confusion about the difference between a website builder and web hosting. Even certified techies have a hard time discerning it. Website builders are design tools while web hosting is a service that gets your website online.

By purchasing web hosting, you aren’t purchasing a website, just like purchasing a domain doesn’t automatically grant you a webpage. Web hosting provides a server to, well, host your website. The hosting provider stores the data about your website and serves it to visitors.

Website builders, on the other hand, are tools for designing your website. In fact, many web hosting providers include a website builder with your subscription (read our Hostinger review for an example).

That said, you don’t need to purchase both. Website builders include web hosting, though web hosting providers may not supply a website builder. With the reviews above, you can act as if web hosting doesn’t exist. Website builders do a fantastic job dealing with the dirty work for you.

Can I Build a Website without Coding Skills?

With a website builder, you need zero coding knowledge. As per our definition above, website builders offer all-in-one solutions for building your website, usually in the form of premade themes and a drag-and-drop editor. That said, knowledge of a design language is still a useful skill to have.

Many of our best website builders allow you to edit the code of your website. Though the included code is optimized well, you may be able to dig in the guts to add a feature to your website or optimize a certain aspect of it.

That’s not essential, though. Some website builders make it easier than others — our ranking above provides a general overview — but the tools you need to build your website will be at your fingertips. Coding knowledge may add another layer to what you can do with your website, but it isn’t a necessary skill.

Website Builder vs. WordPress

When creating a website, it boils down to two options for newbies: a website builder or WordPress. As for the one you should choose, it depends on your website’s purpose. Unfortunately, there’s no hard rule for whether you should use a website builder or WordPress, but we’ll try to provide general guidelines.

Website builders are best for websites that have a hands-off approach, meaning you design your website and only update it as needed. For example, you may start a first-party online store where you add new products and run promotions or use your website to advertise a business. Those types of websites may have content, say a blog, but it isn’t focus of the website.

WordPress is better for a hands-on approach, meaning you’re constantly adding content to the website or changing aspects of it. Though all websites are, in a sense, living documents, WordPress websites are generally driven by content, which is confirmed by the back-end being centered around blogging.

Those are general guidelines, but there are other things you should consider. WordPress has deeper integrations and more flexibility, meaning it’s an ideal solution if you need something special for you website. Though website builders are getting better about allowing you to dig into the code, WordPress is a superior solution for proprietary integrations.

That comes at the cost of usability, though. WordPress is flexible, but it’s also vulnerable. You may purchase a theme that isn’t what you expected or hire a designer who doesn’t deliver on their promises. Likewise, you have to be much more cognizant of how SEO-friendly your code is than you need to be with website builders.

There’s also the issue of traffic. Though website builder hosting works well, it isn’t the proper solution for high-volume websites. In that case, you may need to contend with the complexities of a WordPress website so you can purchase higher quality hosting.

If you’re interested in WordPress, read our guides to get started:

 

Can I Use My Domain with a Website Builder?

Most website builders allow you to use a domain you own. For example, Weebly offers its “connect” plan, which is built for connecting a domain you own to a Weebly website. Providers that don’t offer such a plan usually allow you to connect your domain to any standard plan, too.

If you don’t have a domain, most website builders include one for free with your subscription, whether that be a free subdomain when you use a free plan or a top-level domain when you purchase a plan.

Though all of that’s true for most website builders, it isn’t true for all. If you have a domain that you want to use with a website builder, make sure to reach out to support or poke around in the control panel to verify that you can connect. The answer is usually yes, but a sanity check doesn’t hurt.

Final Thoughts

Website builders are useful, even fun, tools that can help you build a stunning website without the technical nonsense that comes with the field. They’re a prime example of evolution in technology, one that shows how easy it can be in the modern day to build a website.

For our money, Wix is the best option, but Weebly and Squarespace aren’t far behind. Jimdo and Strikingly work well for what they do, too, but they don’t reach the level of our top three builders.

If you have questions or experiences you want to share with us, feel free to drop a comment on any of the reviews above.

Top